Church Year

The liturgical year, also known as the church year or Christian year, consists of the cycle of liturgical times and seasons which repeat each year across the wider church. This gives a common pattern and sense of communion as God’s church worships together.

Distinct colours may be associated with different seasons of the liturgical year but not all churches do this. In this Benefice we tend to mark the cycles and seasons of the church year with colours.